View Thread

Atheists Today » Easy Reading » The Lounge
Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Creative Nonfiction Essay 3
Kowboy
Rough draft, you may have read parts of this before:

The Things That Make Me Sad

I don’t like to visit the sad things in life, but I suppose dropping in on them unannounced like an overbearing relative or neighbour probably develops an appreciation of happier times. Perhaps an examination of my sad items will provide an introspective insight. Senseless death dominates; that of my brother, a tree and a swan in that order, although the tree remains most painful.

In 1969, I was an eighth-grade student at Fassett Junior High School in suburban Oregon, Ohio. When the morning bell rang, it was customary for the students to rise and say the Pledge of Allegiance and a prayer, despite the Supreme Court’s 1962 ruling that such prayers were an unconstitutional exercise of religion by the state.

As a protest against American foreign policy, particularly the war in Vietnam, I remained seated throughout both. My teacher, Mrs. Finkbiener, a distractingly attractive twenty-something, decided my actions were disrupting the class. She ordered me to stand in the hall when the bell rang and re-enter the room after the pledge and prayer. I complied, as I was generally a good kid. However, the next year and particularly as an adult, I would regret my compliance decision.

Very early on or about the morning of March 19, 1970, my mother made me answer a knock on our door. Two men in military uniforms were on our enclosed porch asking for my parents. I told them I’d go get my mom.