View Thread

Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Hello everyone
bongocopter
It's a pleasure to meet all of you, and thank you for welcoming me to your community.

I'm a Canadian, a family man, and I work in high-tech (I was a musician in a former life). How do I come by the Atheists Today site? My father, uncle, and step-father all have PhDs in Theology or Church history, and my great-great-great uncle was Cardinal John Henry Newman (soon to be a saint, of all things: http://www.timeso...3421.ece). This, of course, made me a committed skeptic. :-) Science Saved my Soul, by Phil Hellenes encapsulates my views perfectly.

Perhaps more controversially, I think that the truly, deeply religious can't really be trusted, because someone who is willing to subordinate what he feels is right to what someone else tells him is holy is a person who is capable of committing any crime. On the other hand, being very well versed in the contents of the bible and the teachings of the church, I also think the person who really understands and believes is really quite rare. I actually don't know any true believers, even among the lifetime churchgoers in my family.

Skeeve
Welcome, bongocopter! Whew, with all that history in the family it's very surprising you did end up being a skeptic. Grin

It's always good to get new blood in the forum, a different perspective makes for more interesting conversation.

If you need anything, just hollar.

seeker
bongocopter wrote: