View Thread

Atheists Today » Easy Reading » The Lounge
Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Odd thoughts when waking
JohnH
So I am laying in bed this morning wondering if I should get up or not when I thought of prosthetics (for some reason the machinery thinks this is the wrong spelling). It was a weird convoluted path for these devices to enter my mind but they did. Then I had something of a revelation.

I graduated from college with a degree in mechanical engineering in June of 69. In either 68 or 69 (probably 69) a professor in a design class showed a video or a slide presentation on prosthetics and explained how design of these devices was a field that had much promise for the future.

I do not remember it striking me then, but it did this morning. What the professor was tacitly acknowledging was that a bunch of people had come, and will be coming, back to the US from Vietnam missing parts or all of various limbs. Since the government would have some level of responsibility for these people money would be available for the research. I do understand that it is an interesting and difficult design problem because of the human machine interface and the fact that in general the device must be specific to the injury suffered.

To me this shows the out of context teaching at the college level, or perhaps any level for that matter. The professor could have admitted the reasons for this being a promising field without expressing an opinion one way or another about the war.

It also shows to me the callousness of academics. Go where the money is without concern for where that money is coming from and why. After all it is research, no reason to fault that.

The same college within the last year or so did a press release on a sort of full body prosthetic touting how it would be beneficial for people with certain types of debilitating diseases. No mention of the people being horribly maimed in Afghanistan and Iraq.